How to get location tracking alerts on Google Maps

0
39


AOME1812 / Shutterstock.com

Location sharing on Google Maps makes it easy to track people (with their permission). You can make it even easier by setting up alerts to get notified when someone leaves or arrives at a place.

Google added the ability to receive location alerts for iPhone and Android in August 2022. Previously, the only way to see if someone had left or arrived was to check manually. Alerts make this much easier, especially for recurring situations.

RELATED: How to find your family and friends using Google Maps

First, open the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android device and tap on the profile icon in the search bar.

Select “Shared Location” from the menu.

Choose

You’ll see the list of people who share their location with you at the bottom of the screen. Select the person you would like to create alerts for.

Select a person.

Now tap “Add” in the “Notifications” section.

press

The first step is to choose a location for the alert. Your two current locations will be the default options, but you can also “Add Location”.

Choose a location or touch

If you add a location, you can search for it or find it on the map. Once you’ve circled the location, tap “Add.”

press

Choose whether you want to be notified when they arrive, leave, or both.

Select when to be notified.

Tap “Save” in the upper right corner to finish. You will be prompted once again to confirm.

touch

Google Maps will notify the person that you have set a location alert for them.

Notification for the person being tracked.

This is what the notification looks like when they leave or arrive at the location.

Location notification.

That’s all about it! Depending on the other person’s data connection, it may take a few minutes for the notification to appear. Location sharing is a nice feature and the alerts make it a bit easier to use.

RELATED: How to share your location in a text message on Android