HomeTechnologyTutorialsHow to clear Google history

How to clear Google history


Over time, your browser and Google collect a lot of information about you and your browsing habits. If you haven’t implemented measures to prevent private data sharing, it may be warranted to clear your computer’s search history. You’ll also want to delete the information that Google has collected on its server.

What information does your browser store?

Clearing your browser history only removes the list of websites and pages you have visited. What else does your browser track? To find out, press Ctrl+Shift+Delete (Windows) or CMD+Shift+Delete (macOS), go to the tab Advanced .

download history

This is just the list of files you have downloaded, not the files themselves. It’s there to help you quickly open files if you can’t find them on your computer or to let you download the same file again.

cookies

These delicious snippets of text give websites information about your site preferences, keep you logged in, and help ensure your shopping cart is full, even if you accidentally closed the tab .

However, cookies are not that simple (or that harmless ) as they may seem at first. There are also third-party cookies that track your behavior across multiple websites to show you personalized ads. They are often placed in the ads you see on a website rather than the website code itself.

In general, third-party cookies are to blame for showing you things you used to be interested in on almost every website or app you open.

Cached images and files

Its cache contains local copies of images and other elements that make the page load process faster. Therefore, every time you open a web page that you have already visited, your browser pulls images from the site from the cache instead of downloading them again. By the way, clearing the cache can speed up your device as it frees up space on it.

Passwords and other login data

Many browsers have a built-in password manager. You’ve probably seen that every time you log in to a new website, your browser asks if it should save your credentials to an internal database for later use. If you agree, the browser will automatically fill in a login form with your credentials the next time you visit the website. The same goes for autofill form data.

Autocomplete form data

AutoFill is used to automatically fill in previously stored data, such as your contact information or credit card details. However, when you change your credit card or move to another address, you’ll need to remove the outdated data from your browser.

Site Settings

These include the permissions you give to websites, such as showing or stopping pop-up windows, allowing the use of a camera and/or microphone, and more.

Other than that, there may still be some browser-specific quirks , such as clearing the data of the application hosted in the Google Chrome browser. This refers to data from apps you’ve added from the Chrome Web Store.

Ok, so you’ve cleared your browser history. And now you need to find something in the history that you have deleted… Classic mistake!

How do you check your browsing history after it has been deleted? If you are using Google Chrome and signed in to your Google account before clearing your history, simply go to google.com/history