How to prevent contacts from finding you on TikTok

0
41


Delete messages on TikTok
Delete messages on TikTok

Your quick reply:

  1. To prevent contacts from finding you on TikTok, you’ll need to open the TikTok app and then sign in to your account.
  2. Then click Me. You will need to click on the three dots icon and then click on Privacy and security.
  3. On the next page, disable the button next to Let others find me so that your account is not suggested to other users.
  4. You can even deny TikTok access to your contacts so your contacts can’t find you on TikTok.
  5. Even if you remove the phone number linked to your account, users who have your phone number saved on their device won’t find it on TikTok.

But if you want to make sure that someone in particular cannot see or find your TikTok account, you can remove your phone number or block your TikTok account.

Workarounds like removing your profile picture and changing your username can also prevent people from finding your account on TikTok.

TikTok suggests and recommends accounts to users who want to follow. These recommendations are based on uploaded contacts, research activities, etc. But if you don’t want people to find your account or see your account as a suggestion on your TikTok profile, you can follow the methods below to prevent contacts from finding you.

1. Disable the Let others find me switch:

TikTok provides the allow others to find me switch users. This option is enabled by default so that TikTok users can easily find your account when viewing tips about it. TikTok suggests or recommends different profiles to users that they may be willing to follow. This activity is mainly carried out so that users can make their profiles more attractive and find accounts or content based on their interests.

However, many users often don’t like the idea of ​​their account being suggested to others who might follow them. You may have a few different reasons behind it. As the allow others to find me toggle is kept on by default, your account is automatically suggested to others. But you can turn it off so people don’t see your account as recommendations.

🔴 Steps to follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app.

Step 2: Login to your account. Make sure it is updated to the latest version.

Step 3: You will then need to click on Myself icon.

Step 4: Then click on the three dots icon in the top right corner of the profile page.

Step 5: Next, you need to click Privacy & Security.

click Privacy and security

Step 6: then you will find the Allow others to fine me option.

Step 7: You will need to disable it by moving it to the left.

Disable allow others to find me

Step 8: Now your account will not be suggested to others.

Video on how to prevent contacts from finding you on TikTok:

2. Disable contact sync:

You can deny TikTok access to your device’s contacts. TikTok allows users to upload their address book to the app so they can find the accounts linked to those contacts. TikTok often syncs these contacts to make it easier for users to get tips with user accounts they may know.

However, if you don’t want people in your contacts to find your TikTok account in suggestions, you need to deny TikTok access to your contacts.

Here are the steps you need to take to stop syncing your device contacts with TikTok:

🔴 Steps to follow:

Step 1: First, you will need to check whether you have already uploaded your contacts or not.

Step 2: To do this, you’ll need to open the TikTok app and then sign in to your account.

Step 3: then click Myself button to go to the profile page.

profile-page-in-tiktok-me-icon-1

Step 4: You will then need to click on add friends button located in the upper left corner of the screen.

click add friends

Step 5: Then click Contacts. If you can see the accounts linked to the contacts on your device, you can understand that you have uploaded the contacts.

Then click on Contacts

Step 6: To cancel the sync, go to Settings app on your device. Click on Applications and permissions.

Click Apps & Permissions

Step 7: you will have to click Permits. then click Contacts.

You will need to click Permissions
Then click on Contacts in the tiktok app

Step 8: then click Application manager. then click tic bump of the list. Click on Deny.

click TikTok from the list
Click deny in tiktok app

Step 9: Confirm it by clicking Deny anyway.

3. Remove the phone number from your account:

TikTok allows you to link your phone number and email address to your account for security purposes. You must link your phone number or email address to create an account on TikTok. Therefore, if you have linked your phone number to your TikTok profile, you will need to disconnect it because users who have saved your phone number on their device will be able to find your account in the suggestion section of your profile from your phone number.

Make sure you have an email address linked to your account so that TikTok will allow you to unlink the phone number linked to your account.

Here are the steps you will need to follow to perform this method:

🔴 Steps to follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app. Login to your account.

Step 2: Then you will need to click Myself icon to access your profile page.

profile-page-in-tiktok-me-icon-1

Step 3: Click on the three line icon. You will need to click on the option Settings and Privacy.

Settings and privacy option on tiktok

Step 4: Then you will need to click Manage profile option.

click the Manage Accounts option

Step 5: On the next page, you will see the Phone number option. Click on it. then click Disconnect the phone.

you will see the Phone number option

4. Delete contacts:

You can remove certain contacts from your address book that you don’t want to find your TikTok profile from.

delete contacts

This method allows you to be very selective and specific. If you have someone’s phone number saved in your address book that you don’t want to know about their TikTok account or get suggestions for following their TikTok account, delete that particular contact.

5. Block account:

If you know someone on TikTok who doesn’t want to follow your profile, block them from your account so the user can’t find you on TikTok until you unblock them. TikTok will not show your account as a suggestion for users you have blocked on TikTok. This method is much easier and faster to ensure that the person does not know your TikTok account.

This is how you can block someone on TikTok:

🔴 Steps to follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app.

Step 2: Access your account by logging in.

Step 3: Click on the magnifying glass icon.

Click on the magnifying glass icon

Step 4: Then, find the user and enter their profile.

Step 5: Click the three dots icon in the top right corner, then click Block menu option below. You will need to confirm this by clicking Confirm.

Click on the three dots icon in the tiktok app
click the Block option
You will need to confirm this by clicking Confirm

⭐️ Alternative method: remove the profile picture or replace:

If you don’t want people to know about your TikTok account, you can simply remove your profile picture from your account so no one can see your displayed picture. Without an image on display, it is very difficult to be sure of the identity of the owner.

remove your profile picture

You can also use any random image as your profile picture if you don’t want to leave it blank. By following this method, even if people are asked to follow your account, they won’t be too sure it’s your profile without seeing your profile picture.

2. Change your username:

You can even change your username so no one can understand what your profile is, even if they know you personally.

Change your username

If you want to prevent people in your contacts from finding you on TikTok, you must maintain a unique username for your account. It shouldn’t be related to your real name, so it can be tricky for people.

Frequent questions:

1. How to find contacts on TikTok?

If you want to find user profiles that are linked to your device’s contacts, you’ll need to upload and sync the contacts first. Here are the steps to upload and find contacts on TikTok:

🔴 Steps to follow:

  • Open the TikTok app.
  • Then sign in to your account.
  • You will then need to go to your profile page and click add friends icon.
  • then click Contacts.
  • you will have to click Continue.
  • The contact will be uploaded and synced to your account.

2. Can anyone find me on TikTok with my phone number?

Yes, if your phone number is linked to your TikTok account, people who have your contact number saved on their phone will only be able to find your account on TikTok if they upload contacts to their profile. TikTok allows you to link your profile to your phone number so that people can easily find you with the help of your linked number.

Also read: