How to stop LinkedIn from telling someone you viewed their profile

0
28


LinkedIn often tells people when they view your profiles and shows them your name. That person may even receive an email or alert saying you saw their profile. Here’s how to browse privately without LinkedIn sharing this information.

It may seem silly to prefer anonymity on a social network, but other social networks don’t work like that. Facebook and Twitter don’t send someone a notification every time you view their profile.

To find this option, go to the LinkedIn website, click your profile icon in the top bar, and select “Settings and privacy.”

Click “Visibility” on the left side, then click “Profile View Options.”

Select

Select how you want to appear. You can select “Private Mode” for pure private browsing or select your private profile features, which can appear simply as “Someone on LinkedIn” or something more specific.

People will still see that someone viewed your profile after you view your profile, but they will only see that an anonymous person viewed it.

Select

As LinkedIn warns you on this setup page, there’s only one catch: when you become anonymous to other people, they become anonymous to you. LinkedIn will hide the names of people who view your profile after you enable this anonymity option.