HomeTechnologyNewsHow to unsend an Instagram message

How to unsend an Instagram message

- Advertisement -


PixieMe / Shutterstock.com

You can unsend a message on the Instagram mobile app by tapping and holding the message and selecting “Unsend”. On desktop, hover over the message, click the three-dot menu, choose “Forward” and select “Forward” on the prompt.

Did you DM someone by mistake? If so, you can always unsend an Instagram message using the mobile app or your desktop.

RELATED: How to delete a draft from Instagram

What happens when you unsend an Instagram message?

When you unsend an Instagram message, the platform removes that message from your chat conversation. Neither you nor the recipient will see the message in the chat history.

The recipient is not notified that you have deleted a chat message. Looks like you never sent the message in the first place.

When it comes to deleting sent messages, there is no time limit. You can delete any message you want. However, your recipient may have already seen the message you are about to delete.

How to unsend Instagram messages on mobile devices

To start deleting sent messages, launch the Instagram app on your phone. Then in the top right corner of the app, tap on the Message icon. If you haven’t updated Instagram, you may see a paper plane icon.

On the Message page, select the conversation from which you want to delete a message. Then find the actual message to delete.

Touch and hold the message and choose “Forward”.

Warning: Instagram won’t display a notice, so make sure you’re okay with permanently losing the message when you tap “Forward.”

choose "forward" on the menu.

And that is. You have successfully deleted the selected message from your Instagram conversation forever.

RELATED: How to delete a comment on Instagram

How to unsend Instagram messages on the web

To delete messages from your desktop, launch your preferred web browser and open Instagram. Sign in to your account if you haven’t already.

In the top right corner of Instagram, click the Message icon.

On the Message page, in the left sidebar, select a conversation and find the message you want to delete.

Hover over this message and click the three-dot menu.

Select the three dots to the left of the message.

In the menu that opens, choose “Forward”.

Select "forward" on the menu.

You will see a message “Forward message?” immediate. Here, confirm your choice by clicking “Unsend”.

choose "forward" in the notice.

That is all! On a similar note, did you know that you can “unsend” your Facebook Messenger messages?

RELATED: How to delete messages on Facebook Messenger

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Stay Connected
16,985FansLike
2,458FollowersFollow
61,453SubscribersSubscribe
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -
%d bloggers like this: