HomeTechnologyNewsHow to delete your photos from iCloud

How to delete your photos from iCloud

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

[ad_1]

Justin Duino / Instruction Geek

Go to iCloud.com, open Photos, and select all the pictures and videos you want to delete. Click the “Delete” button (a trash can icon), then confirm the deletion action when prompted.

Not every photo is worth saving, and if you’re running low on iCloud space, you might want to delete some of those unwanted photos. We will show you how to delete iCloud photos on your device and on the website.

What You Should Know About Deleting Photos from iCloud

If you sync your photos to iCloud, you can delete them on one device, and they’ll be deleted from your other Apple devices as well as from iCloud. If it’s not syncing, you’ll need to delete the photos on the iCloud website.

To see if you’re syncing photos with iCloud, open the Settings app on iPhone or iPad and choose your name at the top.

Select “iCloud” and view Photos. If you’re syncing with iCloud, you’ll see “On.” You can also select “Photos” to confirm that Sync this iPhone/iPad is enabled.

iPhone photos iCloud turn on

On Mac, open System Settings from your Dock or the Apple icon in your menu bar. Choose your name on the top left and choose “iCloud” on the right. If Photos is enabled, you’re syncing with iCloud Photos.

Turn on iCloud Photos on Mac

If you’re not syncing photos to iCloud, but uploading or backing them up to the site manually, you can head to iCloud Photos on the web and delete them there.

Let’s see how to do both.

How to delete iCloud pictures in the Photos app

If you use iCloud to sync your photos so you can view them on any Apple device, you can delete photos from any Apple device. This removes them from iCloud and frees up some space.

Delete photos on iPhone and iPad

Open the Photos app on your iPhone or iPad and go to the image you want to delete. Select the photo to open it and touch the Delete icon (trash can). Confirm that you want to delete the image from iCloud Photos on all your devices by selecting “Delete Photo.”

Delete photo on iPhone

To delete multiple images, tap “Select” at the top. You can then tap each photo or drag your finger across a variety of adjacent images. When you’re ready, tap the Delete icon at the bottom right and confirm.

Delete multiple photos on iPhone

delete photos on mac

Open the Photos app on your Mac and find an image you want to delete. Do one of the following to delete a single photo.

  • Right-click and choose “Delete 1 Photo.”
  • Select the photo and click Image > Delete 1 Photo on the menu bar.
  • Double-click the image to open it and press the Delete key.

Delete a photo on Mac

With each of the above methods, you’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the iCloud Photos image on all your devices. Select “Delete” to continue or “Cancel” if you change your mind.

Confirm deletion of a photo on Mac

If you want to delete multiple photos, you can do it all at the same time using the actions above. To select multiple photos, do one of the following.

  • For a range of adjacent photos, click the first image, hold down Shift, and click the last image. This selects the entire range for you.
  • For non-adjacent photos, click the first image, hold down the Command key, and click each remaining image. This selects only those photos that you clicked on.

Once you select the group of photos you want to delete, do one of the above actions to delete them and confirm.

Delete multiple photos on Mac

How to delete photos from iCloud but not from iPhone, iPad or Mac

If you want to delete one or more photos from iCloud but keep them on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac, you’ll need to turn off iCloud Photos syncing on that device. You can then visit iCloud.com as described below, to delete the photos that remain there.

For full details on the process, take a look at our how-to’s for disabling iCloud Photos on iPhone and iPad as well as Mac.

How to delete iCloud photos on the web

Visit iCloud Photos and sign in with your Apple ID. You can also sign in to the iCloud.com home page and select “Photos.”

Click a photo you want to delete and select the Delete icon (trash can) in the upper right. Then confirm that you want to delete the photo by choosing “Delete”.

Delete a photo in iCloud Photos

For multiple photos, select the first photo, hold down the Command key (or Ctrl on a Windows or Linux computer), and select each additional photo. For a group of adjacent images, select the first one, hold down Shift, and select the last photo in the group.

Then click on the Delete icon at the top right and confirm.

Delete multiple photos in iCloud Photos

Recover deleted photos from iCloud

Photos that you delete from iCloud don’t disappear immediately. They are moved to the Recently Deleted album and remain there for 30 days. This gives you time to recover a photo or two that you decide to keep after all.

On iPhone, iPad, Mac, or the iCloud Photos website, open the Recently Deleted album. Select one or more photos as described above and click “Recover” at the top.

Recover a deleted photo in iCloud Photos

When you want to free up space in iCloud, deleting photos you no longer want, are blurry, or were taken by mistake is a good way to go. For more information, see how to transfer your photos from iCloud to Google Photos.

RELATED: What is Apple iCloud+?

[ad_2]

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Stay Connected
[td_block_social_counter facebook="#" manual_count_facebook="16985" manual_count_twitter="2458" twitter="#" youtube="#" manual_count_youtube="61453" style="style3 td-social-colored" f_counters_font_family="450" f_network_font_family="450" f_network_font_weight="700" f_btn_font_family="450" f_btn_font_weight="700" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjMwIiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9fQ=="]
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -