HomeTechnologyNewsHow to delete your Instagram account?

How to delete your Instagram account?

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Instagram hit the world stage in 2010, providing its users with all the necessary features to stay engaged. However, all the constant updates and endless scrolling can be too much.

Although deleting yourself from the platform may seem like an extreme step, we can understand why people consider it. So if you’re in that boat, here we show you how to delete your instagram account.

Related: How to delete your Instagram account on an iPhone

Save your data! (Optional)

If you’ve decided to leave Instagram for good, downloading your personal data before deleting your account is a smart move. To do so, log in to your account using a web browser and go to the “Setting” from your profile page. From the pop-up menu, select Privacy & Securitythen click request download in Data Download.

Click the button “Following” after entering your email address. Within 48 hours, Instagram will email you a downloadable file containing all your data.

Do you have your data? Now let’s take a look at how you can delete your Instagram account. Please note that you will not find a delete button in your Instagram mobile app menus because it cannot be deleted via the mobile app.

Permanently delete your account

  1. Go to the Instagram website via a desktop or mobile browser and sign in to your account using your credentials.
  2. Once you’re signed in, visit the Delete Your Account page.Instagram Delete Your Account Page

    Delete your account page.

  3. Click the dropdown menu for “why do you want to delete (username)?” and choose a reason to delete your account. Some options will give you an alternative answer that might help you make a decision, or you can choose “something else” if you don’t want to give a reason.
  4. Once chosen, re-enter your password and click Delete (username) to permanently delete your account.

Note: Instagram gives you 30 days to recover the account (counting from the day it was deleted). Your account will not be visible between now and then. On day 30, the account is completely deleted, which means you can’t reactivate it.

Deactivate or temporarily disable your account

You have the option to deactivate your account instead of permanently deleting it if you feel your break is temporary. Deactivating your account does not mean that it has disappeared, just that it is temporarily not in use and will not appear on the platform until you decide to reactivate it. This is how you can deactivate your Instagram account:

  1. Sign in to your Instagram account in a web browser.
  2. Go to your profile and click Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and click Temporarily deactivate my account.
    Instagram Edit Profile

    Temporarily disable your account instead of deleting it.

  4. Scroll to the bottom and click Temporarily deactivate my account.
    Confirm to disable the account

    Choose a reason from the dropdown menu and re-enter your password to confirm the deactivation.

Note: You will not be able to reactivate your account immediately after deactivating it because the process takes a few hours to complete. Users can only deactivate their accounts once every seven days.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Stay Connected
16,985FansLike
2,458FollowersFollow
61,453SubscribersSubscribe
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -
%d bloggers like this: